Kendrick Lamar Announces Title and Artwork [Update: Tracklist Revealed]

All hail King kendrick! Anticipation rises for Kendrick Lamar’s upcoming sophomore album as he unveils the official cover art To Pimp A Butterfly

On Wednesday morning, Kendrick took to Instagram to finally reveal the artwork which instantly prompted excitement and anticipation over his upcoming LP. The cover is definitely thought-provoking and is likely to spark debate as to what it is trying to depict and the message it is trying to convey. Tabloids such as The Guardian have already offered an insightful explanation to the cover art.

As can be seen below, the black and white image depicts a mob of black men grouped in front of the White House while flashing their middle fingers, wads of cash, and liquor bottles all while an old white judge lay on the ground with “x” through his eyes.

The artwork was posted with the following caption

“Don’t all dogs go to heaven? Don’t Gangsta’s boogie? Do owl shit stank? Lions, Tigers & Bears. But TO PIMP A BUTTERFLY. Its the American dream nigga….” – lil Homie.

K. Dot’s follow-up to 2012’s critically acclaimed good kid, m.A.A.d city, will incorporate elements of funk, spoken-word poetry and free jazz and will, as Kendrick describes be “honest, fearful, and unapologetic”.

Y’all feeling this?

[Update: Tracklist revealed]

After dropping the cover art yesterday, the tracklisting has also been revealed via DJ Booth. The 16 track LP will include the two previously released tracks, the Grammy-winning single “i” and racially-charged single “The Blacker the Berry”.

No features are listed as of now, so we’re unsure if the album will feature any other artists. Peep the tracklist below.


1. “Wesley’s Theory”
2. “For Free? (Interlude)”
3. “King Kunta”
4. “Institutionalized”
5. “These Walls”
6. “U”
7. “Alright”
8. “For Sale? (Interlude)”
9. “Momma”
10. “Hood Politics”
11. “How Much a Dollar Cost”
12. “Complexion”
13. “The Blacker the Berry”
14. “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
15. “i”
16. “Mortal Man”